What is the typical way to become a copywriter?

proctornatasha

Does it seem like most successful copywriters were Marketing majors? I'm aware a degree isn't necessary, but my question is a bit different. If you're a copywriter who was also a Marketing major, did you take a specific course on copywriting?

As an English major, I didn't have a course like that. I've also taught in higher education for over 20 years and never saw a dedicated copywriting course offered in any program, whether Marketing, Psychology, English, or another degree. Is copywriting included in a Marketing degree, possibly under a different name? If not, how do people become copywriters? Is it just a mix of natural talent and hard work?

I'm just beginning to learn copywriting (through Coursera, Reddit, LinkedIn Learning, etc.) because I want to transition from teaching to fully remote work. I need to move to another state and need a more marketable career. I've noticed that many core concepts of writing copy are similar to what’s taught in an English degree - like understanding your audience, engaging readers from the start, and writing to persuade. Still, copywriting is unique and, in my opinion, should be offered as a separate course. Does anyone have any thoughts on this?

There isn’t a typical path.

That might not sound helpful, but it’s true. Most copywriters don’t have marketing degrees. In fact, many well-known copywriters, and some I know personally, don’t have a degree at all.

Many started in sales and moved into copywriting.

For every person who paid for an expensive course, there’s someone just as successful who learned from free online guides and began pitching clients.

I’d say more successful copywriters start without taking courses than those who do.

People who start with courses often look for a quick fix. They tend to do the bare minimum and give up quickly, sometimes within the first few weeks.